It’s Not Just About Them

A lot of the time in rescue we focus all on the animals. Trappers spend hours waiting for a cat to go into a trap or drive hours to get a mom and kittens. Then there are the veterinarians who choose to help those homeless and feral cats have a better life. These veterinarians give rescues steep discounts, at times just barely breaking even for the cost of supplies. They care just as much about these animals.

Last Saturday morning, I received a call at 6:50am that a kitten had been found dangling by it’s leg that was caught in a fence. We quickly organized transportation to get the kitten to a vet, but the question was which vet? I called Huron Veterinary Clinic where Dr. Leef was seeing patients for half the day. At first I was told that the schedule was full, I understood as they are not an emergency vet. Two minutes later I got a call from Dr. Leef to bring the cat in and she’ll fit it in.

Upon examination the kitten was alert, though dehydrated and hungry, but had a wound in the leg from the fence. The wound was infected and maggots had already hatched. Dr. Leef had asked if she could take the kitten home to watch, since she had been seeing a lot of older patients that unfortunately their time had come to an end. Of course, I agreed.IMG_5283 (1)

Throughout the week, Emilie and I visited Dr. Leef and Captain Barbosa at the clinic. Dr. Leef swore she was not going to adopt him, however she adoringly looked at him as he sat in her hand and posed for pictures. He was healing but there was always the threat of serious infection in his leg.

Last evening at 10pm, my phone rang. It was Dr. Leef. Captain Barbosa was having labored breathing. She had taken him into the clinic for x-rays. The x-rays showed pneumonia from the infection that had gotten into the blood stream and manifested in the lungs. He had to be put on oxygen and admitted into the emergency vet. It was going to be expensive.

Dr. Leef was clearly upset with herself about this poor kitty. I assured her there was nothing more that she could have done and that there was no other vet that I trusted more with the kitty. I heard her voice crack as she thanked me and hung up the phone.

It’s not just about the animals. It’s about the people whose lives these animals touch. About the great lengths that rescuers, caregivers and veterinarians go to save these cats and kittens. I know that the way Dr. Leef cared for this kitten is how she cares for every one of her patients. Sometimes veterinarians are given a bad rap for their high prices, difficult schedules, or inability to “squeeze in” rescues. But the vets at Huron Veterinary Clinic, Dr. Leef and Dr. Ulrich, as well all the vet techs don’t see homeless or owned. They see an animal in need. Before becoming a vet, each vet student must take the Veterinary Oath:

Being admitted to the profession of veterinary medicine, I solemnly swear to use my scientific knowledge and skills for the benefit of society through the protection of animal health and welfare, the prevention and relief of animal suffering, the conservation of animal resources, the promotion of public health, and the
advancement of medical knowledge.

I will practice my profession conscientiously, with dignity, and in keeping with the principles of veterinary medical ethics. I accept as a lifelong obligation the continual improvement of my
professional knowledge and competence.

 Dr. Leef and Dr. Ulrich hold this oath to the highest standard and I am proud to be associated with them, their staff and the clinic.

One thought on “It’s Not Just About Them

Leave a comment